My Top 10 Guilty Pleasures


Last night, I went to hang out with two friends who are very near and dear to me.  I ended up spending the night at their house.  This morning a pang of anxiety hit.  I love these two people but I started longing for home.  Finally, it hit me.  Every night, I put the kids to bed and afterwards take a long hot bubble bath.  I lay there and float till the water cools.  I let the water drain partly out and refill with the hottest water along with more bubbles.  I asked my friend if she minded if I take a bubble bath know she did not care.  As I layed there in the tub, I relaxed.  My anxiety went away.  What I did not do was use the hottest of water and fill their tub twice.  I would not dare.  The idea strikes me that my nightly bubble baths are one of my guilty pleasures.  Urban Dictionary defines a guilty pleasure as something a person enjoys often while said person morally believes the practice to be wrong, abnormal, improper, or incorrect.  I’m not sure I like the definition.  If we enjoy doing something, we should not feel guilty about it.   Right?

What are some of your guilty pleasures?  Here are 10 of mine.  I wonder if any of yours are the same as mine?

  1. Taking my nightly bubble bath as I described above. This is by far, my most favorite guilty pleasure.  I could probably cut our water bill in half  if I did not refill the tub.  It is just so relaxing.
  2. Facebook and Zynga Texas Hold em Poker. My day is not complete till I check Facebook and the house is quiet enough to get in a few hands of poker.
  3. Working out in my living room at mid-night half-naked. I do not know what it is that appeals to me about this nightly ritual but I cannot help myself.
  4. Chocolate Milk. I try to only eat 1000 calories per day.  Yet, I can’t seem to resist some good ol Chocolate milk.
  5. Sleeping naked on the weekends. When my kids are at their dads house on the weekends.  I am sleeping butt naked.  I love it,.
  6. AcroChallenge I play this game in the adult room only.  I love this game and have to have daily dose.  I play in the adult room.  The game gives you some letters.  Everyone types in a dirty sentence then votes for the best.  It gets crazy.  For example:  tham  Tonight, Hump At Moms.
  7. Panties and Lingerie. I love my panties and soft silky lacy lingerie.  I will buy these before I buy clothes.
  8. Blue-Grass Music. People think I am insane.  Who cares?  I love it!
  9. Knee High Toe Socks.
  10. Sleeping late. I do it every chance I get!

These are mine!  What are yours?

This entry was posted in Life, Personal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Nicole Griffin Eakin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .

Leave a Reply

