Random Thoughts on Life


Life can be so crazy sometimes.  You never know where it may lead or what is going to happen next.  Yet, we take the good, the bad, and the ugly and keep on keeping on.  At times,  it is insanity.  Hell, sometimes I am insane.  I remember when I was 18 years old.  I was sweet, nice, and polite,  I did not drink, curse, smoke, and had never taken any drugs.  What happened?  Life happened.  I never dreamed the firs person to call me a fucking whore would end up being my husband!  What did I do?  I sat down and cried.  I was so hurt not to mention stunned.  I had to get tough.  Sometimes, we all have to.  You let that punk bastard call me that same name today and see what I do for him.  He knows better.  Our marriage ended up in divorce–thank God.  That was in 1998 and I always said that I would never get married again.  I went ape wild for a while but now that I am older and I think of the future.  I get scared.  I get scared at the thought of being alone.  When my kids grow up and leave home to star lives of their own.  I will be alone.  I do not wan to be.  But, I am not going to settle for less than I deserve.  Because somewhere lost inside my soul is that same 18-year-old girl.  I am still the same person but a lot wiser and a lot less naive.  I want to love and be loved and I only want the best a person has to offer.  I am sick of all those bottom feeders.  I want it all and after some of the craziness life has thrown my way –I deserve it damn it.  I do.  Everyone does.  Life is what we make it.  We have all been told at one time or another not to sit back and let life happen.  You have to make it happen.  That is so true.  You only live this life once.  So make life happen and live out loud.  No one is promised tomorrow and you can never be sure what will happen next.  So live your life to the fullest.  Trust me.  I learned all of this the hard way but it is never to late.  Love your life and live it!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Nicole Griffin Eakin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .

5 thoughts on “Random Thoughts on Life

  1. Hi,

    I can relate to a lot of this, although not as far down the line after a divorce as your self. I’m not worried about being on my own but do find that it’s hard not having someone to discuss day to day worries with teenagers – that’s where my friends ears come in handy. Goodness where would we be without them!

    I have two children the youngest being 14, as for the eldest yes I didn’t want him to ride a motorbike/moped either but relented in the end. You have to take a CBT test over here in order to be even a learner on the road.

    (Read my chapter in category ‘My past’)

    • Thank you! It is nice to know that someone else can relate to what I am talking about. Being a single parent is hard. If it were not for my family and friends, I would have gone nuts. I am really lucky to have the wonderful family that I have. Up until the birth of my third child 3 years ago, my great- grandmother was still in this world with us – happy and healthy. She had 7 kids. My grandmother and her siblings live all around me. I am really very lucky to have the family support system that I have.

      My oldest child is 14 which is the age here to get your motorcycle license. It is really not him that I worry about on the road. It is everyone else! I also have two daughters ages 8 and 3. My kids are my life. They also may be the very ones that end up driving me insane. Lol With motorcycles, boyfriends, dating, and everything else, I will be completely insane before it is all over with.

      Thank you again for taking the time to read my post. Thank you especially for letting me know that I am not alone!

      • 14 seems quite young to get a licence! I’m quite surprised, here it is 17. Like you it’s other people on the road that you worry about.

        I’ll keep popping back to read more – keep blogging.

      • It is too young! I hope that you do keep reading. You keep blogging! I love the recipes on your blog! Keep blogging and I am going to keep reading! Have a good day. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

