What It Means To Be An American


I’ve always been patriotic so to speak.  I feel compelled to share with you a book that has been introduced to me by my American Literature Instructor Dr. Linda G. Raughton.  W. Cleon Skousen’s book “5000 Year Leap” is sure to shed a whole new light on the true meaning of being an American.

At first reading, I felt the familiar sense of pride which turned to “my God what have we done and how do we fix this?”  The book is about the 28 principles that our founders based the Constitution upon.  The principles were based on Natural Law or God’s law.  The principles may seem a little outdated but they have a proven track record.

It all began in Jamestown where Communal Economics was first experimented  with and 200 years later in 1776 the global experiment of Free Enterprise Economics had prevailed with phenomenal results.  A list of achievements had been produced that contributed to leaps in science, politics, and economics.   According to Skousen, ” in 200 years the human race had made a 5000 year leap.” 

Sometimes prone to duplicate errors of the past, we muddled our lives with drugs, riots, and terrorism among other things.  “Social decay has a harmful effect on the freedom and prosperity that had been given to us.” 

  How do we began to reform?  Education is a good start.  Read the Constitution in its original form.  Read Skousen’s “5000 Year Leap.”  You will be glad you did.  I thank Dr. Raughton for sharing the book with students.  It has shed new light to the real meaning of what it means to be an American.

This entry was posted in Life, Politics, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Nicole Griffin Eakin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .

Leave a Reply

