10 Ways To Save Money


  • Cut your cable bill.   Do you really need that many channels anyway?
  • Reduce your bills.  Ask your service providers if they have bundled services.  The best way is to only have the things you really need.
  • Don’t impulse shop.  Never go shopping when you are depressed.  Never go to the grocery store hungry.  Make a list of the things you want and wait 2 weeks.  If you still want something on your list than budget for it.
  • Work for yourself.  Find something you really like to do and figure out a way to make money at it.
  • Wear your clothes longer.  Easier said than done for me.  Salvation Army is wonderful.  I am lucky because I live in Scottsboro, Alabama which is home to Unclaimed Baggage!
  • Cut down on your food costs.  Make meals at home.  Do not go out to eat.
  • Cut back on cell phone usage.  Most people have internet either at work or home use it instead.
  • Put it in the bank.  Do you have at least 3 months income saved in case of emergency?  If not stop spending and save.
  • Don’t feed bad habits.  Especially gambling and drinking.  Do you smoke?  I figured out my cigarette bill and I could have taken my kids to Disneyland at least once per year already which would have been one item marked off my bucket list!
  • Use condoms.  Kids are expensive…….  Thats so awful.  I love my children they are a gift from God!  If you are young and single, you may want to think about this one!!

Anyone have anything to add?

This entry was posted in BucketList, To-Do's/How To's, work/life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Nicole Griffin Eakin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .

2 thoughts on “10 Ways To Save Money

Leave a Reply

