Tips on Balancing Work With Life


Recently employed as a Supervisor at a group home for mentally challenged adults and teenagers, I loved my job!  However, there never seemed to be enough hours in the day to balance work with family.  I am a single parent with three children.  Three children plus twenty-eight more if you counted my family at the group home whom I love dearly.  Let’s not forget that along with three other Supervisors our thirty something employees were at times like children themselves.  After three years, I had to make a choice between my real family who I felt as if I were neglecting and the clients at the group homes.  I am going to share with you some tips on balancing the two.  I hope that if you are someone who is feeling as overwhelmed as I that this post will help you. 

  1. Share the load.  Unfortunately, I did not have this choice but a lot of people do so use it to your benefit.  It should not be one person’s job to work, take care of the kids or older family members, and household chores.  Get your partner or other family members to help.  I had a bad habit of thinking I was the only person capable of doing something.  fortunately, I found that was just not the case.
  2. Slow down and do not sweat the small stuff.  You don’t have to wash the dishes every single day.  So what if the house doesn’t get vacuumed weekly.  Sometimes its simpler said than done but learn to let them go and don’t feel bummed for doing it. 
  3. Set priorities.  Take charge and make that list of things that you need to get done.  Prioritize them.  I think sometimes it was easier for me to feel overwhelmed and not to just take charge.
  4. Slow down.  I have learned the hard way that life is just way to short.  Don’t let it pass you by.  Take time to stop and enjoy the people who love you.  Remember to take time for yourself.  Find ways to distance yourself from the things that causes you the most stress.
  5. Find a new career.  Some careers take up more of your time than others.  Some are more stressful than others.  If you find yourself needing more time for you and your family explore other career options.  You may find that some careers are more flexible.
  6. Change jobs.  If a career change is not an option, you could look for a new job.  You may even be able to negotiate with your employer a new position.  It could involve a job search, or it may involve temping or working part-time.  You may even try becoming a consultant or free-lancing.  Explore your options.
  7. Don’t procrastinate!  Alot of feeling as if your overwhelmed is due to disorganization and procrastination.  Make that list as discussed above.  Be sure to set realistic goals and don’t put off doing what is on your list.
  8. Find a way to simplify your life.  I think as human beings we try to take on too many responsibilities.  We try to do too much.  We try to own too much.  Learn to say no.  Change your lifestyle.  Get rid of clutter and baggage in your house and in your life!

Life is a process just like striving for balance in your life.  Figure out what works for you.  Celebrate your successes and don’t dwell on your failures!

This entry was posted in To-Do's/How To's, work/life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Nicole Griffin Eakin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .

6 thoughts on “Tips on Balancing Work With Life

  1. Gosh Nicole (if I may call you Nicole) you certainly like your lists !

    Now I think I can help here with a few pointers..

    Point No1 – If you continue to write lists your never going to get on with the 100 things you want to do before you die. Also, I think what you are doing is procrastinating which is simply breaking your own rule No 7 in your list “Tips on balancing work with life”

    Point No 2 – If you keep procrastinating and writing lists about all the things you want to do if you weren’t writing lists, then you are going to run out of paper. That means having to go to the local shop for more paper which is more time wasted ! And you would probably have to write a shopping list to remember to buy the paper!

    Point No 3 – You’re not going to have too much time to celebrate you successes if you don’t have any because you haven’t finished your latest list

    Point No 4 – Please don’t make your next blog post “100 things you could write a list about”

    Yours
    Derek Templeton
    http://derektempleton.wordpress.com/about-me/

    • Derek: So please! Please fix me and make me better!! LOL Your so write and if you only knew how well I really do like lists!! I have taken 5 classes in college this time and I’m going nuts! I took the summer off from work so that I could concentrate on my classes and have found in my spare time…….. I have too much time on my hands! Don’t believe that? Check out http://writersvisions.wordpress.com and today’s post!!

      By the way, I think your great!!

  2. Dear Nicole (and I hope the Griffin Eakin additions are part of your name and not the remnents of a list you made entitled “My favourite 100 best sounding double barrelled surnames”)

    Gosh !

    a) I’ve never seen poetry written as lists before

    b) To quote you “I’ve been thinking about exercising but so far all I’ve done is thinking about it!” – you mean you’ve been too busy writing lists

    c)Here is a final verse for your lovely script “When you go”
    So now I’ve sounded my final words
    From where my thoughts exist
    I would share with you my inner thoughts
    But I’ve got to write a list

    Yours Derek
    http://derektempleton.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

